About Us

Since its inception in 1951-52 as an independent and prominent department, the Department of Physics has been providing three-year undergraduate programme in B.Sc. (Non-Medical). Innovation has always been the hallmark of the department and with a team of dedicated faculty members, the department continues to explore new avenues in its pursuit of excellence. Efforts are taken to make the learning process innovative and progressive. We focus on providing intensive mentoring to our students both in and beyond the classroom through practical knowledge which ensures the all-round development of students. The courses offered by the department comprise of nuclear and particle physics, quantum physics, electricity and magnetism, electronics, mechanics, waves and vibration physics.